Hating 2016

Most, if not all, hated 2016 with a passion. Good thing that there’s an end to it. Hello 2017, bye 2016! And in all things we hate, we must have learned a thing or two… how about five? 

They say that we, millenials, are so entitled. But up to what point? Yes, we’re all entitled to our emotions. We are entitled to feel them. We are entitled to be happy, sad, depressed, mad, excited, etc. etc. However, we are not entitled to our actions. We are beholden to our actions. We need to remember that every action have consequences. So if your emotion is pushing you to do a certain action, better think twice! 

You will learn this the hard way. 2016 for me is full of No-s. Every job application I’ve been sending out since June were negatively responded… except for one. Which was just positively responded this December. Those month in between were a bit hellish but they are part of the journey. I love those No-s!!! Why? Because I strongly believe that every No will lead you to your real destiny. Never fear a No for it might just be the best thing that will happen to you. 

How many heartbreaks can 2016 throw you? Add those to the heartbreaks that were thrown at you from 2015, 2014, 2013, and so on. That’s a lot of baggage to carry! But maybe time can heal your wounds. It will. However, I’ve discovered, that travel can heal certain wounds as well. Travel nourishes my soul, it renews me. Travel locally, travel out of the country. Travel in style, travel cheap. Travel to places you’ve never been to, travel to places you know like the back of your hand. Travel with your eyes, travel using your feet, travel and smell that different air. Travel to catch sunrise and sunsets. Travel to touch oceans, travel to sleep in another bed. Travel to take pictures, travel to make memories. Travel to write, travel to tell stories. And when you’ve done all those things you’ll see your wounds healed.

They also call it the art of Letting Go. This is hard too, you need a 4.00 in your Philo classes to even try this. Well, ehem… Anyway… Back in the old days of my youth I’ve learn a thing or two about detachment. Some may interpret it as “not caring” but it is more than that. Detachment in the sense that I can let go of things that are simply not meant to be. Detachment in the sense that things can be replaced, that I’ve survived without them before. Detachment in the sense that I don’t dwell too long in situations that are beyond my control. Detachment in the sense that I cared but I understood enough to let go. Maybe this is why I’m always “chill”… 

Remember that movie with that hot Jack Frost in it? This is the piece of advice he took that made him a successful Guardian. What’s your center? Maybe it’s joy. Maybe it’s hope. Maybe it’s love. What can keep you going when everything else fails you? What can you hold on to when everything falls apart? Anong panghuhugutan mo? For me… it’s  faith. Faith in goodness. Faith that all things happen for the greater good. Faith in humanity. Faith in love. Faith in faith. Faith keeps me going. 

For being such a bitchy year, 2016 definitely taught me a lot. Here is just my top five. Well, top lessons that sounded so mature and philosophical. LOL! 

I am happy though. Happy that this year happened. Happy that it will end soon. Happy to have experienced it with people who are fun to be with. Goodbye 2016… maybe, just maybe, your worth looking back on. 

Here’s to an exciting 2017! 

Leave a Reply

