Baler Bound

Might be a little too late to post about my Baler trips but oh well… I’ll still write about it!

Thanks to my friend Cha, I discovered this place called Baler. It’s a six-hour-bus ride away from Manila. Just enough to catch some snooze and to recharge your energy if you’re leaving Manila around 1AM. I highly recommend for you to ride the semi-deluxe buses of Joybus! Not as expensive as their deluxe buses but they are as comfortable (no stopovers, toilet on the bus, free blanket, water and biscuits, lol). If you’re going there around the peak season, better reserve online for your bus ride.

My first trip to Baler was around September last year and we just stayed there for two days. Cha was kind enough to tour me around the touristy spots in Baler even though she already visited those places. My favorite is Sabang beach where I was able to have surf lessons. LOL! Since I’m too lampa, I wasn’t able to stand on the surfboard. For my first time there, I fell in love. I fell in love with the people, the stories, and the food (of course). Cha is a frequent visitor already of Baler, thus, she already made a lot of friends there. Their stories of how they end up there were amazing! It’s the wanderer and romantic in me, I guess. From bustling cities and busy 8 to 5 jobs, they decided to leave everything and start over in Baler. You can say that Baler is a place for the weary. It’s also a place to dream new dreams and make them happen.

Second trip happened in Novermber. We went there to celebrate Cha’s birthday. First activity was trekking to reach a secret waterfalls (only locals know the place). That was fun though, even if I’m not that into trekking. Haha! One of the highlights of this trip was our trip to Dicasalarin Cove. That place was surreal. It was beyond beautiful. You need to experience it to truly appreciate it. The beach, the lighthouse, the cave, and the artist village were soooooo beautiful. It’s a place that can inspire your soul. I highly recommend this place even though transpo plus entrace fee are a bit costly. Our supposedly three days stay in Baler became five days. We always don’t want to leave!

Now… let’s talk about food! Baler will not disappoint. From sweet to savory cravings, Baler got you covered. If you’re tipid na tipid, there are the rolling stores near the plaza to satisfy your hunger. For sweets, go and indulge on the different breads, cakes, and cupcakes at Dialyn’s Bakery. Don’t forget to partner them with their 20 pesos Twining’s tea (nakakaiyak sa mura). If you looooove food (like we do), eat your lunch and dinner at The Good Food. Their food is to die for!!! There’s nothing like them in Manila and their prices are soooooo affordable.

If you’re looking for new places to visit, Baler is a must. I love how the big waves are my lullaby at night. I love the stories of people there. I love how chill the vibe is there. I love how nice the people there. I love the memories I made there. I simply love it there.

IMG_6246

IMG_6268

IMG_6332

Best place to stay: Charlie Does Inn

Best food: The Good Food

Must Do: Surf Lesson

Must Visit: Dicasalarin Cove

Must pack: Sunblock

Must leave behind before you go here: Your worries

Must take away from Baler: Happy memories

P.S. All photos are taken by me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

